Skip Navigation

Southern Oregon University

The SOU Computer Science department welcomes 11 local technology & business leaders who will be speaking on Thursdays from 12:30-1:30 in Stevenson Union through Spring term. These events are open to all SOU students, faculty, and the community

For the most up to date information, visit the SOU Computer Science Facebook page.  See speaker bios.

Date

Speaker

Title

Organization

Topic

Wed., March 6

Jim Teece

President

& CEO

Project A

You have Mad Skills and Soon a Degree - Hurry Up and Change the World! (or My mom called me today and wants to know why I didn't invent FaceBook)

Thursday, March 14

Michael Smith

Business Development Manager

SOREDI and  Rogue Nexus

What Employers Want

Thursday, April 4

Jessica Gomez

Founder & CEO

Rogue Valley Microdevices

My Start Up Experience

Thursday, April 11

David Hand

President

Data Center West

The Maker Economy

Thursday, April 18

John Lee

Co-Founder

Folium Partners

How to Self-Test for Entrepreneurial Tendencies

Thursday, April 25

Jeff McJunkin

Systems Administrator

City of Central Point

Getting Involved in Network Security

Thursday, May 2

Priscilla Oppenheimer

Network Consultant & Author

Priscilla Oppenheimer

Network Engineering: How to use your CS Skills to Land a Job in the Networking Field

Thursday, May 9

Michael Marans

President

MV Pro Audio

Programming Careers in the Professional Music and Audio Products Industry

Thursday, May 23

Rob Head

Founder & CTO

Shop Dragon / Coding Zeal

Why Agile Rocks -- TDD and Pair Programming

Thursday, May 30

Tolga Latif

President  & CEO

Linx Technologies

What They Don’t Teach You In School About The Workplace

Thursday, June 6

Trever Yarrish

Founder & Partner

Coding Zeal

Cross-Pollination: The Power of Multi-Discipline Pairing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Many thanks to the Sustainable Valley Technology Group for providing food at these events!  www.svtg.org