Skip Navigation

Southern Oregon University

 Holiday Leave 2014*

Holiday

Observed on Date

Observed By

New Year’s Day

Wednesday January 1

All

Martin Luther King Day

Monday, January 20

All

Memorial Day

Monday, May 26

All

Independence Day

Friday, July 4

All

Labor Day

Monday, September 1

All

Thanksgiving

Thursday-Friday,November 27-28

All

Christmas Eve

Wednesday, December 24

Classified Employees Only

Christmas Day

Thursday, December 25

All

Holiday Leave 2015*

New Year’s Day

Thursday, January 1

All

Martin Luther King Day

Monday, January 19

All

Memorial Day

Monday, May 25

All

Independence Day

Friday, July 3 (Observed)

All

 

*The HEC follows the SOU Ashland campus schedule

 SPECIAL LEAVE DAY      

Classified Employees:

  • Full-time employees receive 8 hours of Special Day leave; part-time employees receive a prorated amount based on FTE.
  • Employees may request the option of using the Special Day leave on the workday before or after Christmas Eve or Christmas, the workday before or after New Year’s Day or, if these days are not available to an employee, on another day of the employee’s choice.
  • Special Day leave must be used by June 30 of the fiscal year in which it is granted or it will be forfeited.
  • To be eligible for Special Day leave, an employee must be employed as of December 24.

GOVERNOR’S DAY

Unclassified Employees (vacation-eligible administrators and faculty):

  • If granted, full time employees will receive 8 hours for Governor’s Day leave; part time employees will receive a prorated amount based on FTE. The leave must be recorded on the employee's leave record in the month in which it is taken under the “Other” category.
  • The leave may be used the day before Thanksgiving, or the day before or immediately after either Christmas Day or New Year’s Day.
  • If an employee cannot use the Governor’s Day during this time period, the leave may be requested to be taken at a later time. The Day must be used by January 31, since it does not accrue if it is not used.
  • To be eligible for the Governor’s Day leave, an employee must be employed as of the day prior to the applicable holiday.