Skip Navigation

Southern Oregon University

The Kieval Lecture Series

2013 Kieval Lecture Series:  Dr. John Caughman, Portland State University
Click Here for Details

A lecture series endowed by the late Harry S. Kieval for speakers to address broad popular aspects of mathematics that are attractive to undergraduates and the general public. The speakers meet with students and faculty informally, in addition to giving two to four public lectures.

Previous lecturers in this series have included:

  • 2012/13 John Caughman, (details), Portland State University (May)
  • 2011/12 Kenneth Ribet, (details), UC Berkeley (June)
  • 2010/11 Sherman Stein, (details), UC Davis (May)
  • 2009/10 Donald Crossfield, (details), Roseburg High School (Feb)
  • 2008/09 David Pengelley, (details), New Mexico State (May)
  • 2007/08 Jeff Weeks, (details)
  • 2006/07 Jon McCammond, (details), UC Santa Barbara (May)
  • 2005/06 Donald Saari, UC Irvine, in conjunction with June PNWMAA conference
  • 2004/05 Millie Johnson, (details), Western Washington (April)
  • 2003/04 William Dudley (details), DePauw (May)
  • 2002/03 Yves Nievergelt, (details), Eastern Washington (May)
  • 2001/02 Jack Robertson (details), Washington State (April)

    Colin Adams, (details), Williams State (May)
  • 2000/01 Mark Neilsen, (details), U of Idaho (January)

    Edward Burger, (details), Williams (May)
  • 1999/00 Joseph Gallian, U of Minnesota, Duluth (May)
  • 1998/99 Steve Keeler, Boeing (April)
  • 1997/98 (William Dunham cancelled within days of May series)
  • 1996/97 Rick Luttman, Sonoma State (May)
  • 1995/96 Judy Grabiner, Pitzer (May)
  • 1994/95 Bob McKelvey, U of Montana (May)
  • 1993/94 (None)
  • 1992/93 Duane DeTemple, Washington State (May)
  • 1991/92 Marjorie Senechal, Smith (May)
  • 1990/91 Rolland Lamberson, Humbolt State (spring)
  • 1989/90 Richard Guy, U of Calgary (spring)
  • 1988/89 Sam Saunders, Washington State (spring)
  • 1987/88 Mike Moody, Washington State (spring)
  • 1986/87 Tory Parsons, CSU Chico (February)
  • 1985/86 David Barnette, UC Davis (May)
  • 1984/85 Constance Reid (January)
  • 1983/84 Ivan Niven, U of O (November)
  • 1982/83 Jeffrey Arthur, Oregon State (May)